Types of car racing (other than soapbox car races)

IndyCar Racing

IndyCar racing boasts one of the biggest annual sporting events in the world in the Indianapolis 500, while 2016 will see the 100th time this race has been staged. IndyCar racing also pre-dates another famous type of single-seater racing, Formula 1, by several decades, having been introduced as early as 1905. Currently, IndyCar races are held in North America on a mix of oval tracks, road and streets. Though the venues are limited to North America, IndyCar has always attracted drivers from many countries, and the current IndyCar champion is the Australian, Will Power.

Formula 1 Racing

Formula 1 is popular all around the world, with an increasing number of countries hosting single-seater races. The inaugural F1 season was in 1950, when the Italian driver Giuseppe Farina in an Alfa Romeo was the sport’s first world champion. Argentinian driver Juan Fangio dominated F1 in its early years by winning the Drivers’ Championship on five occasions in the 1950s. In more recent times, from 1994 to 2004 German driver Michael Schumacher won the Drivers’ Championships seven times – which is a record. Ferrari, with 15 world champions, have been the most successful team in F1 history.

Rally Driving

Rallying, which takes place on private or public roads, involves different tests for drivers than either the smooth surfaces associated with IndyCar and F1. Rallying involves a driver and co-driver, while there are two main types of rally driving – stage and road. Stage rallies are professional in nature and, taking place in a wide range of conditions, are designed to be a major challenge for driver and car alike. As opposed to speed being the criteria in determining the winner of stage rallies, navigation, keeping time, and car reliability are key regarding road rallies. Also, road rallies take place on an actively public road, whereas stage rallies are held on roads that are sealed off to other vehicles.